Skip Navigation

Guidance Counseling

Counseling services at St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School is available to all students and is designed to meet the educational, social, and emotional needs of students at each grade level (i.e. educational planning, and personal and social/emotional development issues). The counselor acts as a resource person, a coordinator among teachers, parents, and students, and as an advisor to the student. The counselor will seek to understand the expectations and concerns of both students and parents and work together closely to empower both, in order for the student to enjoy a prosperous and gratifying high school experience.

Guidance Counselor

Sometimes life can become stressful, this calming room has been created to help you find virtual activities to help you find ways to relax.

Visual Relaxation

Aquarium     Breathing Circles     Camp Fire     Glitter     Nature     Outer Space     Underwater     Zen Garden

Sounds and Music

Ambient Study Music     Calming Harp     Ocean Waves     Peaceful Piano     Soothing Rain     White Noise

Guided Meditation

Body Scan     Breathing Techniques     5-Minute Mindfulness     Reduce Anxiety     Self Soothing

Stretching 

10-Minute Morning Yoga     Anti-Anxiety Yoga    Cosmic Kids Yoga     Relax Your Muscles     Teens & Yoga     Yoga for Depression

Coloring Pages

Downloadable Coloring Pages     Online Coloring Pages

Calming Apps

Breethe     Calm     Headspace     My Life

 

Resources for parents/guardians/caregivers:

Parent presentation from Resilient Wilco on Brain Development & The Science of Building Resilience: Part I and Part II
Beyond Blue: Strategies to support anxious children: https://healthyfamilies.beyondblue.org.au/age-6-12/mental-health-conditions-in-children/anxiety/strategies-to-support-anxious-children
Child Mind Institute: What to Do (and not do) When Children Are Anxious https://childmind.org/article/what-to-do-and-not-do-when-children-are-anxious/
Coping Skills for Kids: Quick Ways to Calm Down: https://copingskillsforkids.com/calming-anxiety
NPR: How To Help A Child Struggling With Anxiety: https://www.npr.org/2019/10/23/772789491/how-to-help-a-child-struggling-with-anxiety
PsyCom: Helping Kids with Anxiety: Strategies to Help Anxious Children: https://www.psycom.net/help-kids-with-anxiety

Activities to do at home:

Calming Activities: https://gozen.com/37-techniques-to-calm-an-anxious-child/
Calming Bottles: https://youtu.be/OOPZSCiTZ-c or https://www.messforless.net/calming-bottles/
Creating Stress Balls: https://copingskillsforkids.com/blog/homemade-stress-balls
Imagine Neighborhood: https://www.imagineneighborhood.org/
Mindfulness Activities: https://biglifejournal.com/blogs/blog/5-fun-mindfulness-activities-children-breathing-exercises
Relaxing Music: https://youtu.be/t2UEqBdU7go

For Parents:

  • It is important that, as parents/guardians/caretakers, you take time to care for yourself.
  • If you’ve ever been on a plane, you are familiar with the pre-flight protocol. The flight attendant instructs passengers that in the event the plane loses oxygen, the caretaker is to put their oxygen mask on first. This may seem counterintuitive, but the reason is that if the caretaker doesn’t care for their wellbeing first, then it makes it harder and in some cases impossible to care for those around them.
  • Take some time each day to care for your well-being before supporting those around you.
  •  

Activities to Support your Wellbeing:

Effective Stress Relievers: https://www.verywellmind.com/tips-to-reduce-stress-3145195
Ways to Reduce Stress and Anxiety: https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/16-ways-relieve-stress-anxiety

Resources to Support your Wellbeing:

Resources from the National Alliance of Mental Health Illness: https://www.nami.org/Find-Support/NAMI-HelpLine/Top-HelpLine-Resources
Prepare Your Health: https://www.cdc.gov/cpr/prepareyourhealth/
Taking Care of Your Emotional Health: https://emergency.cdc.gov/coping/selfcare.asp
Texas Health and Human Services Adult Mental Health Information: https://hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/adult-mental-health


Resources for parents/guardians/caregivers:

Healthy Children: Adolescent Depression - What Parents Can Do: https://www.healthychildren.org/English/health-issues/conditions/emotional-problems/Pages/Childhood-Depression-What-Parents-Can-Do-To-Help.aspx
NAMI: How to Help Your Child with Depression: https://www.nami.org/Blogs/NAMI-Blog/December-2018/5-Things-You-Can-Do-to-Help-Your-Child-with-Depres
Kids Health: About Depression: https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/understanding-depression.html
Young Minds: Parenting a Depressed Teenager: https://childmind.org/article/how-to-help-your-depressed-teenager/
 

Activities to Do at Home:

Art Therapy Activities: https://positivepsychology.com/art-therapy/
Coping Strategies for Children with Depression: https://www.yourtango.com/experts/dr-laura-dessauer/3-creative-coping-strategies-kids-depression

For Parents:

  • It is important that, as parents/guardians/caretakers, you take time to care for yourself.
  • If you’ve ever been on a plane, you are familiar with the pre-flight protocol. The flight attendant instructs passengers that in the event the plane loses oxygen, the caretaker is to put their oxygen mask on first. This may seem counterintuitive, but the reason is that if the caretaker doesn’t care for their wellbeing first, then it makes it harder and in some cases impossible to care for those around them.
  • Take some time each day to care for your well-being before supporting those around you.
  •  

Activities to Support your Wellbeing:

Effective Stress Relievers: https://www.verywellmind.com/tips-to-reduce-stress-3145195
Ways to Reduce Stress and Anxiety: https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/16-ways-relieve-stress-anxiety

Resources to Support your Wellbeing:

Resources from the National Alliance of Mental Health Illness: https://www.nami.org/Find-Support/NAMI-HelpLine/Top-HelpLine-Resources
Prepare Your Health: https://www.cdc.gov/cpr/prepareyourhealth/
Taking Care of Your Emotional Health: https://emergency.cdc.gov/coping/selfcare.asp
Texas Health and Human Services Adult Mental Health Information: https://hhs.texas.gov/services/mental-health-substance-use/adult-mental-health

Downloadable Documents

Upcoming Events

June 21 - Friday
08:00 AM - 08:00 PM

09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
June 22 - Saturday
08:00 AM - 08:00 PM
June 28 - Friday
July 3 - Wednesday

10:00 AM - 12:00 PM

06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
July 4 - Thursday
July 6 - Saturday
July 12 - Friday
July 19 - Friday

09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
July 26 - Friday

09:00 AM - 04:00 PM
July 28 - Sunday
04:00 PM - 08:00 PM
July 29 - Monday

08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
July 30 - Tuesday

08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
July 31 - Wednesday


08:00 AM - 06:00 PM
August 3 - Saturday
August 4 - Sunday
August 6 - Tuesday

08:30 AM - 11:30 AM

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

August 7 - Wednesday

08:30 AM - 11:30 AM

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 13 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 14 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 18 - Sunday
August 19 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 20 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

August 21 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 24 - Saturday


09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
August 25 - Sunday
August 26 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
August 27 - Tuesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

August 29 - Thursday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 08:00 PM
August 30 - Friday

August 31 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
September 2 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 4 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 5 - Thursday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 9 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 10 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 11 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 12 - Thursday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

September 14 - Saturday

09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
September 16 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 17 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 18 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 19 - Thursday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 20 - Friday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 21 - Saturday
September 23 - Monday

01:00 PM - 03:00 PM

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 24 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 08:00 PM
September 25 - Wednesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 26 - Thursday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
September 28 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
September 30 - Monday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 1 - Tuesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 08:30 AM
October 2 - Wednesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 5 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
October 7 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 8 - Tuesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

October 11 - Friday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 13 - Sunday
October 14 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 15 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 16 - Wednesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

07:00 PM
October 17 - Thursday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 19 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM

05:00 PM - 08:30 PM
October 22 - Tuesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

05:00 PM - 08:30 PM
October 23 - Wednesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 24 - Thursday



04:00 PM - 07:00 PM

October 26 - Saturday

09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
October 28 - Monday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 29 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
October 31 - Thursday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 2 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM

November 3 - Sunday
November 4 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 5 - Tuesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 6 - Wednesday



04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 7 - Thursday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 11 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 12 - Tuesday

02:00 PM - 07:00 PM

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 13 - Wednesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 14 - Thursday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 16 - Saturday

09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
November 18 - Monday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 19 - Tuesday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 20 - Wednesday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 21 - Thursday

04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 22 - Friday


04:00 PM - 07:00 PM
November 23 - Saturday
09:00 AM - 11:00 AM
November 27 - Wednesday
November 28 - Thursday
November 29 - Friday

December 1 - Sunday
December 9 - Monday
December 10 - Tuesday

December 11 - Wednesday
December 12 - Thursday

December 16 - Monday
December 17 - Tuesday
December 18 - Wednesday
December 19 - Thursday
December 20 - Friday
December 23 - Monday
December 24 - Tuesday
December 25 - Wednesday

December 27 - Friday
December 30 - Monday
December 31 - Tuesday
January 1 - Wednesday
January 3 - Friday
January 6 - Monday
January 7 - Tuesday
January 8 - Wednesday
January 15 - Wednesday
January 18 - Saturday

08:00 AM - 05:00 PM
January 20 - Monday
January 21 - Tuesday
January 22 - Wednesday
January 27 - Monday
January 28 - Tuesday
January 29 - Wednesday

January 30 - Thursday
February 1 - Saturday
February 2 - Sunday
February 3 - Monday
February 4 - Tuesday
February 6 - Thursday
February 10 - Monday
February 12 - Wednesday

February 16 - Sunday
February 17 - Monday

February 18 - Tuesday
February 19 - Wednesday

February 22 - Saturday
February 26 - Wednesday
March 1 - Saturday
March 3 - Monday
March 4 - Tuesday
March 12 - Wednesday
March 13 - Thursday
March 17 - Monday
March 18 - Tuesday
March 19 - Wednesday

March 20 - Thursday
March 21 - Friday
March 25 - Tuesday
March 26 - Wednesday

March 30 - Sunday
March 31 - Monday
April 1 - Tuesday
April 20 - Sunday
April 22 - Tuesday
April 23 - Wednesday

April 26 - Saturday
April 27 - Sunday
May 1 - Thursday
May 2 - Friday
May 3 - Saturday
May 5 - Monday
May 6 - Tuesday
May 7 - Wednesday

May 8 - Thursday
May 10 - Saturday
May 11 - Sunday
May 12 - Monday
May 13 - Tuesday
May 14 - Wednesday

May 15 - Thursday
May 20 - Tuesday
May 21 - Wednesday

May 22 - Thursday
May 24 - Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
May 28 - Wednesday
May 31 - Saturday
June 4 - Wednesday
June 11 - Wednesday
June 18 - Wednesday